Seek knowledge even as far as China

A lot have been said about the above hadith (a saying or an act or tacit approval or disapproval ascribed either validly or invalidly to the Prophet Muhammad p.b.u.h). I am not here to discussed its authenticity. But I concur with Dr Mahathir, one of Malaysia’s PM, even if its authenticity is doubted, surely seeking knowledge in China does not mean Islamic knowledge. During the Prophet’s period, China was also known to have deep knowledge in such fields as medicine, literature and paper, explosives and many others.

Home to one of the world’s oldest civilizations, one can’t deny the contributions of Chinese Civilization to The Modern World. The ancient Chinese civilization had a great impact in the modern world. They invented many things that are still in use today. One of the most important Chinese contributions to the modern world is paper. Thus, it is no wonder many of us non-Chinese are fascinated with all things China. Plus, how many of us travel the world to buy souvenirs only to realize that many things are really made in China.

China is the most populated country in the world, home to over 1.3 billion residents. Imagine if you include the pockets of Chinese communities all the over the world, the number would be massive. China is the second-largest country in Asia after Russia.

At one point in time, I learnt the language with fervor in university but alas, it met with a silent death. Maybe I should enroll myself in some university in China and immersed myself in both the Chinese culture and language. When? Maybe after my 2 year stint at my new work place. Yes, deep down I have commitment issues. The only thing I can commit to is my marriage and that is already heee-yu-ge.

Anyway, my fascination with all things China has brought me to some cities. It’s a phase, I also went through a fascination will all things middle east. Back to China, I went to Beijing in 2004, Hongkong and Shenzhen in 2005, Shanghai, Hangzhou, Suzhou, Wuzhen, Wuxi and Anji in 2007 (written in Malay by my dad) and recently Xinjiang province. Coupled with the fact that both the husband and I share a passion for eating amazing authentic Chinese food because it is healthier than our Malay food. An irony because I am a Malay Language teacher. Don’t worry, both of us are very much Malay in our outlook and appearance.

The subsequent posts will be dedicated to my thoughts and reflections on the Far East based on my travels. I do not claim to be a master on this topic (yes, visiting a few cities in China does not make me an expert) and my thoughts are my own, not reflective of the organization I worked for. Rest assured, I will be politically correct and socially responsible. So if you want to read my thoughts, do wait for the next post. I am perfectly fine with my thoughts remained unread. Zaijian.

 

Leave a Reply

