7 year itch?!

It’s been a while since I last blogged. Teachers are busy people okay.ūüėČ

Anyway, 12 March has passed and went away. This year is our 7th year of marriage life.

The hubby posted the following on his Facebook dedicated to me:

Thank you for falling in love with me
Thank you for being my wife
Thank you for accepting my flaws
Thank you for accepting who I am
Thank you for being there, even when I am wrong
Thank you for guiding me
Thank you for all the years spent

To my friend, my travel companion, my wife, the other half of my life
P.S So far no seventh year itch.

Well, it has been 7 years of ups and downs, inclusive of many itches, definitely. Nonetheless, ¬†marriage is a commitment. It takes two hands to continue clapping. Not easy. Let’s talk about the good stuffs first.

The best thing about being married for me was to be able to travel without causing a worry to my parents. Somehow, the parents think that the husband is capable of protecting the wife and make responsible decisions when the need arises. Little did they know, all travel plans were decided by their daughter. Together with the husband, we have been to the following places:

1. Austria (Innsbruck & Salzburg, 2012)

2. Belgium (Brussels, 2012)

3. Cambodia (Kampung Cham, 2012)

4.China (Romantic Jiangnan trip: Hangzhou, Nanjing, Shanghai, Suzhou, Wuxi, Wuzhen 2007; Hong Kong, Silk Road Route: Urumqi, Kashgar, 2013)

5. Egypt (Cairo & Alexandria, 2011)

6. France (Paris, 2008)

7. Germany (Frankfurt, Romantic Strabe, Fussen, Garmisch, Munich, 2012)

8. India (Delhi & Kashmir, 2009)

9.Indonesia (Bali, 2006: Bandung & Jakarta, 2010 & 2012, Bintan 2006, Batam)

10. Italy (Rome, 2008)

11. Japan (Tokyo & Nigata, 2008)

12. Jordan (Amman, 2011)

13. Malaysia

14. Maldives (2013)

15. Morocco (Tangier, Chefchaouen, Fez, Merzouga, Dades Valley, Irocha, Marrakesh, 2010)

16. Nepal (2011)

17. Netherlands (Amsterdam 2012)

18. Palestine (BaitulMaqdis, Bethlehem & Hebron, 2011)

19.Saudi Arabia (Madinah & Makkah, 2011)

20. Spain (Madrid, Cordoba, Granada, 2010 & Barcelona 2012)

21. Sri Lanka (Negombo, Nuwara Eliya, Galle, Colombo -2013)

22. Switzerland (Basel, Interlaken & Jungfraujoch 2012)

23. Thailand (Bangkok, 2006 & Phuket, 2010)

24. Turkey (Istanbul, Bolu, Ankara, Cappadocia, Konya, Pamukkale, Kusadasi, Pergamon, Canakkale, 2007)

25. UK (London & Manchester 2008 & 2012)

26. Vietnam (Ho Chi Minh 2011 & 2012)

26 countries together in 7 years. Insya’allah many more to come. The thought of going on holidays with the husband makes me happy plus many other things.

We have registered with MUIS to go for Haj last year. Alas, now one will have to wait about 15 years to be able to perform the Haj. Nonetheless, I believe that Allah knows best when we are ready to be his visitors. Once, we are deemed ready, it can be less than 15 years of waiting time. Insya’allah. That’s my ultimate wish and hope – to be able to perform Haj with the husband. The same hope I had when I finally decided to marry him. This is ‘Him’ – the guy who will be by my side during Haj. With that thought,we are still together. He can be the least understanding guy I have come to realize (I have no other basis for comparison, actually) but hey, similarly I am to him. The picture below (courtesy of tumblr) pretty much sums up Us.

tumblr_mjz9y23OUP1rl270ho1_500

The last Umrah I did in Ramadhan 2001, I made a promise to God that I will make sure both of us will come and do the Umrah together after marriage if he is the right guy. Alhamdulillah, we finally did in 2011. Trust me, it was not an easy task but Allah makes it easier when He believes we are ready.

Anyway, life is unpredictable. We can plan for many moments together but we do not belong to each other forever. At the end of the day, I am grateful for the husband Allah has loaned me. For how long more, that is not for me to decide. Until then, we’ll continue to linger and try to make the best of what we have.

4ever

Leave a Reply

