My travel memoirs

I’m no veteran and seasoned traveller. Neither do I have a career that allows me to travel to different parts of the world which have made me who I am today – a woman with lots of travel tales to share, NOT.

Nonetheless, travel has always brought happiness to me, that is 100% true most of the time. Here I miserably share some of my most unforgettable travel experiences by answering my own made up questions to an imaginary audience. But, the answers are not made up, mind you.

Where did I have my most memorable vacation?

It is definitely Chefchaouen, north west of Morocco. It is the chief town of the province of the same name, and is noted for its buildings in shades of blue. Unforgettable because of the journey we had to take to reach the place. I did not realise how far it was from Tangier and the lack of transport there. We took a gamble by risking our lives with an unlicensed driver who approached us as we obviously looked lost. Alhamdulillah, we reached the Rif mountains safely though later than expected. The quaint and charming town blew us away. It was definitely a place worth a second visit. Insya’Allah.

What is your favorite travel destination?

I would have to say two places, Makkah & Madinah, Saudi Arabia.

I can travel anywhere in the world but I will never get that special feeling like when I stand in front of the Kaabah or say a silent prayer in Raudhah @ the mosque of the holy prophet Muhammad s.a.w.

Every time I visit those places, I will leave with a new and unique experience which enriches my growth as a person. Alhamdulillah I have been blessed to experience that magical feeling several times when I performed my Umrahs. I hope to be able to perform Haj with my beloved husband some time in the near future. Insya’Allah.

Which countries have the best food?

Indonesia. I’m all for spice and sugar.

What is my most interesting travel experience?

I experienced the best years of my youth back in the days of illegal entries, dingy backpackers’ hostels and getting to Angkor Wat from Singapore by road. In addition, having Pattani boys and hearing impaired dudes as travel mates as we checked out pasar malams, mosques and pockets of Muslim communities. My dad has yet to find out about the 6 treacherous hours along Mekong River and me being proposed by a drunk Liberian dude or the guitar-strumming Laotian dude.

Those journeys shared with my best girlfriends resulted in a fun atmosphere where we got to see people of all walks of life bond together during many inconvenient situations.

Which do I prefer – traveling in a large group, with a partner or alone?

I enjoy traveling with people generally, especially mi familia. Drama? Life would be abnormal without one for me.

Definitely not alone, as I need to talk to people.

Where would I go for a romantic getaway?

The place doesn’t matter really. Anywhere can be romantic as long you are with your loved one. If I have to choose, it’ll be anywhere with the sun, sea and sand. The last I had was Movenpick, Phuket.

What are the most essential travel items I need to have?

My phone, adapter and charger. Necessary in times of emergency.

My most memorable souvenir would be?

The husband bought them from a Bangla at the Colosseum, Rome. The wifey was angry. For more info, read here: A tale of 2 worms.

Any advice I would like to share on selecting hotels?

Read reviews – Tripadvisors & Booking.com which will help you to determine which aspects are the key to your essential experience – such as the location, service level, room comfort, food and beverage within the hotel, facilities etc.

There, 30 minutes of my time has passed as I reflect on my travels. At the end of the day, it’s the journey that we take rather than the destination that we go to that changed us.

Leave a Reply

