Time to grow up

One of my little sister’s goal is to travel on her own. Being the last in the family, obviously we have our reservations on whether she is capable of doing it on her own.

Last year, she left the nest to follow us on her maiden trip alone without her parents to Nepal. And boy, there was drama. I can’t blog what happen (it’s too embarrassing, she’ll kill me) but the trip brought us closer. Nonetheless, Ayah said to give her more time. She will eventually ‘grow’.

The period when Ibu was sick, I saw Atiqa matured very quickly. I was proud of her; juggling her work, study and taking care of Ibu. She was the main caregiver. She fed, cleaned and bathed Ibu to the very end. It was so admirable. No complains.

Hence it did not take us by surprise when she received a letter of recommendation from her district judge without her asking. She quit her job to care for Ibu a month before Ibu passed on. She was asked to come back but she declined, citing personal reasons. The letter written spoke well of her work and character, I’m sure my late mom would be proud of her.

So now when she wants to travel overseas with her friends, we decided to give her a test. We are trying out her independence by allowing her to travel 8 days with Ayah. All of us will be in the same continent but during the last leg, Atiqa & Ayah will travel together only to meet us later for the flight home. However, yours truly will help her plan the itinerary, budget and meals to cook. Bookings will also be done by me. She just needs to follow through the itinerary and make sure she doesn’t miss the schedule. Because then, they would be missing the flight home.

So where will they be heading? Spain – Catalonia & Andalusia. They will be tracing our footsteps back in 2010.

Alhambra was gorgeous.

Insya’allah, they’ll survive. When my late grandmother passed away, I too accompanied my late grandfather to do Umrah Ramadhan at age 22 without my parents. I believe if we are sincere in bringing joy to our elderlies, Allah will always take care of us. Have faith.

4 thoughts on “Time to grow up

  1. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely fantastic. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it wise. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is really a tremendous website.

  2. Reading this and entries bout your mum makes me smiled and sad at the same time. You are very lucky to have a very close and caring family🙂

Leave a Reply

